Playdate pre-orders open

Originally published at: Playdate pre-orders open | Boing Boing

3 Likes

Stupid work.
Wasn’t able to break free until 2:30eastern (90 minutes after pre-orders opened). By that point they already burned through the 20,000 units anticipated for 2021 release.

I think the thing I am most excited about this is the pending release of the development stack. I’ve been playing around with Panic’s new(ish) IDE “Nova” for a few months, as I understand it the Playdate dev environment will be geared towards this IDE.

1 Like

I love these kinds of experimental game devices, especially the ones with new interfaces, even though I have no interest in buying one, nor am I even sure it’ll result in any interesting games being made. The very fact that people are thinking about games in significantly different ways is enough for this to be worthwhile.

3 Likes

Can I pay extra for the hand crank charging option?

1 Like

I set a reminder and preördered one at about 10:03 PST (their site only crashed for a minute or two). I considered just waiting, since I don’t love the PR stunt angle, but then I was like eh whatever.

It will be lavishly irritating if they miss their shipping date though.

@bobtato do they even have a shipping date at this point, beyond “2021”?

At this point I just assume everyone will miss their shipping date, no matter what.

I put in my pre-order and it says “preorders taken today will ship in 2022”
So… :man_shrugging:
It will be one of those things that I forget about and then one day I’ll get a magical email surprise, “Your Playdate has shipped!” and it will be fun to anticipate its delivery, etc.

Question: do pre-orders have access to the Playdate SDK and simulator to start dev work in advance?

1 Like