Professions for children!

I’ve been wondering lately, what with all the tech change around us, how I might bring my kids up to have some kind of paid work.

Accountant? No - automated. Doctor? Weeeelll … automating. Lawyer? No. Too shameful.

Oncologist though! And they can live in Kiribati!

Why the fuck do people still smoke?

Send them to Bangladesh. I hear lots of children find work there.

3 Likes

Good plan - plenty of opportunity! Hey, might even get to work for a big western name company too!

I’m a translator, so technology development is pretty significant as a factor in whether I still have a job in 20 years. On the one hand, machine translation software and translation memories reduce the amount of money I get for a single document, but on the other hand they aren’t good enough to replace a translator altogether. There is also a lot of pressure from poorer countries where people can offer much cheaper rates, but often with less accuracy.

The EU collapsing would probably have a much greater impact on my work, as the EU is the world’s largest translation provider and client (and provides work for many translation companies and freelance translators that aren’t full time EU employees). Dreaming a little, it might be worthwhile for such a large organisation to develop a system where texts to be translated into many languages are first extensively parsed to make the structure and meaning as clear as possible for computers. Combined with the existing large corpus of existing EU translations, you could theoretically make machine translations a lot more accurate, making a few people very rich and automating a lot of the work that keep people like me employed.