Read an exclusive excerpt from "An Internet In Your Head: A New Paradigm For How The Brain Works "

Originally published at: Read an exclusive excerpt from "An Internet In Your Head: A New Paradigm For How The Brain Works " | Boing Boing

I thought the universe was like a watch, and God was a clockmaker? Or is the brain a computer? Or is it a finely-tuned machine?

I am an electrical engineer, so I am familiar with the things that he’s trying to compare the brain to. I see the brain as more like an FPGA rather than a computer or a data communication network.
An FPGA, or field-programmable gate array, is a chip that contains many thousands of little logical units, and a bunch of wires and switches.
These building blocks can be connected together to form any sort of complex circuit that the designer can express in a programming language. Once the chip is configured to implement that circuit, then it becomes a logical machine that does that particular task very efficiently. It can later be reprogrammed to implement another circuit very efficiently, as seems to be what happens in our brains over time.
This is another analogy that is by no means 100% accurate, but it’s a lot closer than the ones that we see presented by non-engineers. This is likely due to the fact that most non-engineers have no idea what an FPGA is.

1 Like

Thanks for posting the excerpt. I’m going to have to buy this book even though it will frustrate me greatly. I’ve written up my basic reaction; hopefully its not too preachy.

To start with the final sentence – proposing “recasting neural computation as neural routing” is pretty close what I’ve written in research proposals. Examining biophysical mechanisms of dynamic routing in biological neural networks is one of my key interests. I agree completely that neural routing deserves more attention and understanding it is critical for understanding neural computation.