Reinvented, a new magazine about women in STEM written by women in STEM

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/01/16/reinvented-a-new-magazine-abo.html

6 Likes

@ garethb2 your link is broken.
https://www.reinventedmagazine.com4495-05/ should be https://www.reinventedmagazine.com with or without the 4490-05 (with it brings a 404 but at lease resolves the domain.

1 Like

Calling @garethb2

1 Like

I’m STEM’ing right now.

2 Likes

sigh I’m not feeling the love.

I’ve been a coder since 1982 - Assembler and COBOL on the IBM mainframe, so throw in JCL, also - and now I sling SAS on three platforms.

Maybe I’m having an OK Boomer Bummer moment, but we women who coded back then were pioneers and our role models were few. I see only young faces on Reinvented’s web site. How about some gray hair and wrinkles? We coding crones know a lot of cool stuff!

17 Likes

Fixed. Thanks!

2 Likes

That is depressing… some of that is the ingrained misogyny of our society, and some of that is the very short memory of the STEM field, I think (or really people in general). This is why I do a week focusing on computing in my US history survey, because people don’t realize how critical women’s contribution were to computing and people don’t realize the role the government played in shaping the computing industry… for most people, if they think about the evolution of computing, it’s from maybe the early 2000s or if they’re really informed, it starts with Jobs and Gates… which misses a century of historical development!

10 Likes

Thank you! :heart:

6 Likes

Thank you for being a pioneer and role model to lots of young women today!

7 Likes

FeelingTheLove

6 Likes

That was my reaction to the blurb, it seems infused with “Maker think”. It doesn’t say much that tge photo shiws a current star, who probably merits attention but she seems to be featured because she’s the one people know about.

If they feature Jude Milhon then we know they’ve looked deeper.