Renegade fire department illegally saved baby, says private ambulance firm

Originally published at: Renegade fire department illegally saved baby, says private ambulance firm | Boing Boing

17 Likes

Next up for the company: suing schools, churches, universities and the local police department for having first aid courses on their premises.

35 Likes

Star Trek Facepalm GIF

34 Likes

Prescott Valley area of Arizona

I found the problem, but no cure exists.

31 Likes

I recently read A Libertarian Walks Into A Bear, the non-fiction account of a quasi-organized movement to dismantle government services in Grafton, New Hampshire in order to build a libertarian paradise.

Spoiler: a whole lot of buildings in the area ended up burning down.

35 Likes

I am not a lawyer, but I believe that a contract like that, which actually has a likelihood of causing people to die, is unconscionable and therefore unenforceable.

37 Likes

Pessimistic me foresees a future, similar case where by the private Life-Maintenance service company demands that that person who’s life was illegally (and more importantly out of contract) maintained by another entity in their service area, relinquish said life, as it was in the sole contractually ordered decision of the Life-Maintenance service company to provide service or not.
So basically Repo: the Genetic opera, but without the cumbersome need for organ transplants first. The government could just contract life maintenance services from the get-go.

8 Likes

No! Let’s not both-sides this: public services are inherently superior. The burden is 100% on Ayn-caps to prove that funneling money to the owner class can possibly improve services; the claim is absurd on its face, and the evidence for it is non-existent.