Same as the old boss: Justin Trudeau ready to sign Harper's EU free trade deal

[Read the post]

2 Likes

But… JT campaigned on the platform that he would would be happy to go through with the TPP if it met “Canadian’s Interests”. So he’s just waiting to get his palms greased I’d assume. Unless I’m missing something.

Signing the agreement only means that the Government of Canada agrees that the final text represents what was negotiated. The government has stated that signing does not equal ratification. There is a huge amount of pushback against this in the “influential” tech sector in particular. Not a done deal in the U.S. either. The pressure must be kept up though.

Wow, two comments from two newbie accounts. That was fast!

1 Like

Newbie here maybe!. The topic is important so I overcame the inertia of signing up!

6 Likes

I’m not terribly surprised that the Canadian government supports this. The Canadian government doesn’t have a long history of inventing safety regulation that effectively bar foreign competition. (There haven’t been, for example, a ton of suits under the NAFTA version of this process.) However, there are a number of nations that have used arbitrary safety and other regulation as a means of disabling the competition to local firms (who are, for example, far more likely to contribute to local politics).

The U.S., being larger, has far more levers than Canada to discourage countries from discriminating against American companies. On the other hand, Canada is insignificant enough that eliminating Canadian competition through legislative means is essentially risk free.

Hence I understand why the Canadian government has incentive to give Canadian companies a legal means of redress.