San Francisco will start paying people $300/month not to shoot anyone (or get shot)

Originally published at: San Francisco will start paying people $300/month not to shoot anyone (or get shot) | Boing Boing

7 Likes

As a designer, I admire this kind of thinking.

Also as a designer, I’m routinely wrong and regularly get schooled by the Law of Unintended Consequences.

I wish this program every success and look forward to seeing how it turns out.

31 Likes

How will they know they didn’t shoot anyone?

12 Likes

That’s the beauty of pilot programs. If they don’t work out the way you hope they will you can shut them down, but if they do work you can scale them up.

The problem is that even if the program succeeds beyond its proponents’ wildest dreams conservatives will still lose their shit over it because they’re far more interested in treating gang members like animals than they are in either saving money or reducing violent crime.

44 Likes

So I guess the $300 payments are basically the foot in the door… it’s impossible to prove, but joining the program gives you access to a life coach and you have to keep the relationship up if you want to earn more money through the various milestones.

The “pay people to not shoot each other” line is basically clickbait because “pay someone to have a life coach” is less interesting.

36 Likes

the Dream Keeper Fellowship

Ah, the new American Dream of not shooting anyone with readily available firearms.

21 Likes

Yeah, which is why I expect it will work, but be canceled anyways. Because this is what happens with a lot of other pilot programs that turned out to the most successful approaches we have to dealing with various problems - they conflict with conservative ideology/feelings and are non-starters as a result.

28 Likes

Do not leave out the right’s ability to craft a narrative/build a frame around any issue and have that POV propagated in no time flat.