Suspicionless searches at US border: the next battleground for press freedom

[Permalink]

1 Like

Suspicion of dissent is not the same as suspicionless.

It’s even worse if you’re not a citizen. I’m a legal US resident. I’m afraid to leave the States as last time I did CBP interrogated me for four hours and wanted to hold me in detention (aka jail) for the long weekend (I was traveling on the Friday before a Monday holiday) in Puerto Rico as they wanted a judge to decide if I should be allowed back into the country or not. Thankfully someone in there had a clue as I was ultimately allowed to enter the country on a 30 day pass and had my admission determined by a judge in the States. I was released with a piece of paper for ID and that’s it. They seized my passport and my US drivers license and my US SSN card. While I got it all back 30 days later and I had to literally duck CBP/police at my transfer in LAX (I spent an hour hiding out in the loo) as my traveling companion heard them talking about picking me up for traveling without my passport. I’d done nothing, I’ve still done nothing. I’ve lived here for 35 years but I fear I may not get back into the country if I leave again. Worse still, I’m not sure if I want to stay…

9 Likes

Who do you turn to when the bastion of democracy abandons it?

2 Likes

The same stuff happens to people who aren’t in the press too, only they don’t have a media platform to discuss it.

3 Likes

FTFA:

In a way, [journalists] are lucky because they are journalists who can tell their story to a large audience to get the word out. As On The Media documents, this happens to “countless” people in the US, their stories receive no attention, and the have no recourse.

5 Likes

We must shutdown these agencies. They can not exist any longer. They have become a threat to the republic. Defund them, fire them, and tag them. We can not allow these people to enter civil society unwatched.