Sysadmin for poets

Continuing the discussion from A Collective Blog of Commenters:

This is to follow up on ideas for discuss engaging the conceptual side of understanding servers and what servers do.

What does that mean? Are there sysadmin-ish books analogous to Martin Davis’s Engines of Logic (math) or Jeff Potter’s Cooking for Geeks (cooking) that folks have enjoyed?

I hasten to add this is not a request for professional training resources.

It’s more like asking attorneys to learn about divorce law by reading Susan Moller Okin’s Is Multiculturalism Bad For Women?

That is, necessary but not sufficient — and some would argue not necessary.

Some suggest skipping the book search and pursuing a mostly exclusive wax on, wax off approach instead.

2 Likes

Daww.

Before you edited it, I thought it would be something like this:

or this:

3 Likes

Sorry! I’m a slow editor. Maybe both? :slight_smile:

This is kind of like “I’d like to read about the theory of driving a car.” There might be a book on it, but I don’t know of one. It might make you a bit better of a driver, but if you’re trading off time behind the wheel for reading about driving it’ll make you a worse driver. There’s basics and in-depth details that are covered by the docs for any common service you’ll run, and from there you gotta get behind the wheel, have a clear goal, start small, get advice from a community that’s familiar with the services you’re running, and be as risk-averse as you can.