Taiwan's legal crowdsourcing tool is working surprisingly well to resolve thorny legislative problems

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/08/22/reasoning-together.html

4 Likes

Taiwan’s legal crowdsourcing tool is working surprisingly well to resolve thorny legislative problems

Wow, how cool is that, the Government actually works in that country!

6 Likes

I prefer the old methods.

4 Likes

City-state? Are you confusing Taiwan with Singapore?

9 Likes

I would be interested in hearing about the effects of this law-making technique vis-a-vis “tyranny of the majority”, especially in a multi-ethnic society.

1 Like

I’m part of the Canadian “civic technology” community, and I’ve been doing primary research on vTaiwan from afar for the past 2 years. In fact, I’m heading to Taiwan next month for a research fellowship to study their civic tech movement, including the part of the community that stewards the vTaiwan process :slight_smile:

The whole process is really about using the conversational intuitions that we take for granted in small group conversations, but allowing us to use them more naturally in environments where thousands are trying to participate. Just like Roberts Rules of Order are a social technology to let 200 people interact (while preserving minority opinion), vTaiwan is a developing social technology for letting 1000s+ interact (while preserving minority opinion). Or another comparison: For talking online, vTaiwan is to Twitter, like what an incorporated co-operative is to a riot. vTaiwan is about letting us “human” better in large numbers. Because we are bad at doing that in abstract digital spaces where we can’t see one another.

As to your point: It’s actually really wonderful at preserving minority views.