Telcoms lobbyists have convinced 26 states to ban or restrict municipal broadband

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/04/19/comcast-vs-america.html

3 Likes

Texas prohibits municipalities and municipal electric utilities from offering telecommunications services to the public either directly or indirectly through a private telecommunications provider.
However, a few cities in the state have been able to get around these rules. Mont Belvieu, for instance, was able to begin building out a fiber network in 2016 to offer broadband services to residents.

The local district court decided that the city of Mont Belvieu had the authority to offer Internet service to residents because the Internet does not fall under the state’s definition of a telecommunication service.

So, maybe, possibly, if you can take it to court… Wonder how hard they are lobbying to fix that.

I’ve been asking my local telcos for fiber for a couple years now. Even through our neighborhood association. They don’t want to put the infrastructure in.

6 Likes

Our representatives are such a bargain.

6 Likes

In my town Verizon is busy moving people off of phone lines onto their fiber optic network, while at the same time claiming that because the phone subscriptions are so low that they no longer have to pay property taxes on their switch station.

They are evil.

5 Likes

I’ve been saving up to buy some representatives but I realized that they’re only a bargain because only one side bids. If I wanted to pay to get progressive laws passed (i.e. municipal broadband) it would cost a lot, but since it is usually only corporate lobbies bidding they get legislation for pennies on the dollar

3 Likes