The new Pixel phone has a bizarre, obscure "opt out" arbitration waiver

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/10/21/beware-the-leopard.html

6 Likes

I am not a lawyer, but my understanding of contract law requires that you be a party to a contract for it to apply to you. Do you have to sell your soul to Google to buy a Pixel 3? If not, then you shouldn’t have to opt out of anything to retain your right to sue.

Can any lawyers out there help me out with this one?

1 Like

In a rational world you’d be right. Contracts are supposed to be a meeting of the minds, where two parties agree on terms. And arbitration is supposed to be a voluntary choice between equal parties. Unfortunately, case law and a Federal law encouraging arbitration have been corrupted into a process where corporations get to put unilateral arbitration clauses into all of their consumer contracts that allow the corporation to opt for a completely separate system of law where they control the rules and the judges - they literally get to pick the judges, and under arbitration law, the judges don’t actually have to decide based on the law. These corporate contracts can also, by fiat, prohibit consumers from coming together as a class to bring cases. This essentially makes corporations immune to being held accountable for outright theft and fraud even when committed on an industrial scale, because it can cost more to bring an individual arbitration action than the recovery will be. And arbitrators find in favor of their repeat clients (the corporations) the vast majority of the time, and any that don’t don’t get hired again. The incentives are overtly perverse.

Yeah, so I’d say this is legal, under current interpretations of current laws. And it’s outrageous. But at least there is an opt out, even it if it is hidden. That’s more than most contracts offer :frowning: