The Poisoned Wine Problem

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/03/24/the-poisoned-wine-problem.html

1 Like

Well I thought that was rather clever. :slight_smile:

11 Likes

Presumably each person has to drink a bit from 100 bottles, at regular intervals? Keep a record so you know what they were drinking one hour before they died.

Ah, is there meant to be a time limit stated? 1 hour, perhaps?

Not in a place to watch the video, but I assume this is the answer?

2 Likes

Yeah, but the party needs to happen. You don’t have that much time.

2 Likes

Ahhh damn I can’t believe I missed that. I was so close, but my solution was a binary search and a really long party opener.

8 Likes

Actually, I think I’d just let everyone drink their own bottles.

45 Likes

I’m not a coder, but it came to me pretty simply…

Prisoner 1 samples 500 bottles, Prisoner 2 the other 500. P1 dies.

P2 samples bottles 1-250, P3 samples 251-500, P3 dies.

etc… you will be able to get 1 one bottle.

edit: this might not work w/in the time allowed and, thus, there is a better solution.

10 Likes

You are a wise king.

8 Likes

Number the bottles from 0 to 999
Prisoner 1 takes 1 drop from all the odd numbered bottles
Prisoner 2 takes 1 drop from bottles 0,1 4,5 8,9 etc…
Prisoner 3 takes 1 drop from bottles 0,1,2,3 8,9,10,11, etc…
Prisoner 4 takes 1 drop from bottles 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7, etc…

After one hour you read out the number of the poisoned bottle in binary using the dead prisoners

23 Likes

11 Likes

It was that lazy-ass bulb-fondling electrician, wasn’t it?

20 Likes

That was my thought as well.

Binary

I haven’t seen the video, but my solution would be to consider the ten prisoners a ten-digit binary number, with drink/abstain representing zero and one. Process of elimination would tell you the poisoned bottle.

Edit: nailed it.

13 Likes

Number the bottles from 1 to 1000 in binary using 10 binary digits per bottle.