The Role of Analog Shift Registers in Electronic Music

Originally published at: The Role of Analog Shift Registers in Electronic Music | Boing Boing

1 Like

As an engineer, I find this verbal description of analog shift registers to be a bit confusing and erroneous in places. But that’s not surprising, as this device is much easier to explain in pictures than in words.

4 Likes

Regards! I always enjoy your comments on the BBS, Nixie. (You’d commented some time back on an episode on radios that I also really appreciated)

I’m guessing I know where you find the content in error, too. Ha. I have a slightly uncontrolled visual/narrative context for how systems work. And the additional metaphors one encounters, like Bucket Brigades, etc, make things sound more metaphorical to physical things. It’s also been years since I’ve worked with any circuits, so the understanding of things has shifted into metaphor at some points. I think that does help others understand the concepts, though.

Howabout this? I think this sort of Serial in/Serial out Shift Register diagram best explains how an ASR works as music modules:

sequential-seq22

What’s missing is an output at each ABCD stage, but that’d be easy to modify, I’m figuring.

It’s true that the musical application isn’t precisely how Shift Registers work. These things are always adaptations, even if they use similar analog circuits. Compare the original Serge notes from the 1970s that seem more focused on the Sample & Hold of the waveform:

Cheers, EP

2 Likes

Ok, where’s @74hc595 ….

I realize the 74-series chips are digital, but still….

3 Likes

Would Debussy be sporting a Ned Kelly beard and neck tatts too!?

I love your stuff as it reveals the history behind the sounds.