This space geek built a DIY radio telescope for $150

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/09/27/this-space-geek-built-a-diy-ra.html

5 Likes

It’s amazing what you can do with the modern amplifiers and software radios these days! I was just reading some technical articles from the sixties about professional radio astronomers building racks full of equipment to make these same measurements.

But fortunately, my day job is exactly this sort of work.

Still trying to convince the Owens Valley people to send me one of these old BIMA 20-foot diameter antennas for my back yard. (I’m currently working on new control systems for these dishes, having been transported to Arizona.)

17 Likes

I used to work for a company, that amoung other things, had a troposcatter system using fixed reflectors. When they were decommissioned, an amateur named Bob Stevens (IIRC; I met him in the 1980s, so… ) bought one for a token amount to use for SETI. That was pretty cool, but he also had a deal underway to acquire the use of the steerable dish (> 40 metres, I believe) in Algonquin Park for the same purpose. I believe he ran that for a few years . sometimes, all you gotta do is ask :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I wish I was smart like that.

I bet he can pull in ESPN Sunday ticket really good.

1 Like

If so, he’s tearing his hair out trying not to pick up ESPN Sunday Ticket.

6 Likes

So how does one generate an image from a radio telescope? Do they use a CCD like optical and infrared telescopes?

I was lucky enough to be near Green Bank when the very large dish collapsed back in the 80’s, and was given the run of the place to photograph it. Turns out that instead of climbing the ladders to get up onto the dish surface for servicing, they would tilt the edge down to the ground so the techs could just step on and not have to climb. Metal fatigue did the rest.