This trig problem kept me up too late last night

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/06/18/this-trig-problem-kept-me-up-t.html

2 Likes

Let’s see how the editor works…

(Sec x - tan x)^2 =
(1/cosx - sinx/cosx)^2 =
(1 - sin x )^2/ (cos x)^2 =
(1 - sin x )(1 - sin x) / (1-sinx^2)=
(1 - sin x) (1 - sin x) / (1- sin x) (1 + sin x) =
(1 - sin x)/ (1+sin x)

About 5-10 minutes for me. I have a degree in math, but haven’t used it in years for this. Still, fun problem!

16 Likes

I love math.

I hate this question. I hate what the system is doing to students like your daughter.

What’s the actual purpose of this course? This question? What problem-solving abilities are being amplified? Why is this being taught instead of probability? Statistics? Decision making? Even symbolic logic?

My guess is that the purpose of this question is to ensure compliance and screen for persistence.

It makes me sad.

7 Likes

took me like five ten minutes i think?

11 Likes
  • reduce everything to terms of 1, sin x, cos x
  • replace cos^2 x in denominator with Pythagorean identity
  • factor 1 - sin^2x into (1+ sin x)(1-sin x)
  • reduce.
    roughly 45 seconds. the longest operation was “confirm that sec x = 1/cos x, because who uses secant?”

EDIT: correction: the longest amount of time was the time it took to notice the fat-fingering in my answer. But neglecting that…

6 Likes

Trig only started to make actual sense to me when I started making video games.

6 Likes

The trick is to move up to the next level of mathematics where you’re really lost, then everything before it doesn’t seem so bad. I didn’t really appreciate Taylor series until I started using them in engineering, usually in the form of “and for very small x, sin x = ~ x. Because all the rest is small and meaningless, and we’re engineers, not mathematicians.”

10 Likes