Top Secret: New World Order: Merle M. Rasmussen reboots his 1980 RPG classic

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/06/24/nsa-and-d-and-d.html

The first time Merle Rasmussen played Dungeons & Dragons, he thought it was a Halloween game.
“It was October 1975, and I was an 18-year-old freshman at Iowa State University. My roommate got this game filled with skeletons and undead monsters. I had no idea.” The role-playing bug had bitten him, but fantasy wasn’t his genre. So that same year, he started writing a game set in a modern world, the spy game that would become Top Secret.

2 Likes

I remember ads for this game, although I never owned it. Looks cool, but needs more aliens.

2 Likes

I loved Mercenaries Spies & Private Eyes. Lots of Tommy Guns, amphibious airplanes, and jungle hide outs. It was pretty much “Tales of the Golden Monkey” crossed with a John Woo flick

5 Likes

I loved the game in the 1990s!

3 Likes

I had th original but my gaming friends didn’t get into it so i didn’t have a chance to really get into it myself. I’ll look into the new one.

3 Likes

I still have my original Top secret, Boot hill, Gamma World, and Car wars games.
Loved all those early role playing games.
Good luck to Merle introducing the next generation of role players to the warm and fuzzy world of espionage.

6 Likes

To see if your character succeeds at a task, three dice of varying size are rolled, and they must always add up to 13 or better for success. It’s that target number of 13 that has led to the new game engine’s name, the “Lucky 13 system.”

That’s clever.

1 Like