UK police refuse to disclose identity of uncharged suspect in Covid spitting death

Originally published at: UK police refuse to disclose identity of uncharged suspect in Covid spitting death | Boing Boing

5 Likes

I’m not an expert in UK law, but it sounds like a couple of lawsuits are in order here.

15 Likes

In addition to the suspect’s being a white (easiest guess ever), middle-aged male I wonder if there are other reasons why the transport police are going to so much trouble to protect him despite the outcry. I have the feeling that this wasn’t just some no-name yobbo but rather some highly privileged, perhaps titled piece of garbage.

28 Likes

There is something odd going on here.

Apparently "as part of his occupation’’ the man received an antibody test on March 25 2020 (4 days after the incident) which showed that he had not been infected with coronavirus. I don’t know what occupations would be getting antibody tests at that time, but they weren’t widely available- in fact, IIRC they weren’t officially validated at the time, and the tests that the UK had at that point were later shown to be insufficiently accurate.

More details here

If I was in a tinfoil-hat mood, I might even think that the fact that this man had access to an antibody test on March 25 2020 was itself something that was being kept secret.

From the above article (based on the BBC’s investigative reporting), I don’t think there is enough evidence to convict him of murder or manslaughter, or even for there to be enough chance of a conviction for the CPS to prosecute. There probably is enough evidence to convict him of harassment and/or common assault, both of which have a maximum prison sentence of 6 months but are normally punished with a fine or community service.

6 Likes