Visualizing what happens when you shuffle a deck of cards

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/10/07/cabinet-shuffle.html

5 Likes

Not me! As a computer programmer, I roll a 52 sided die and swap the first card for the card number of the die roll. Then I do it for the 2d card, etc, until I get to the last card.

Where my nerd friends at?!

6 Likes

Really great data visualization. This man is living a good life.

8 Likes

I once made a spreadsheet to prove that after 8 perfect riffle shuffles, a 52-card deck is restored to its starting position. And I once got very good at riffle shuffling, but I never managed to pull off 8 perfect ones in a row. Retaining top stock is usually enough, though. Nice visualization.

4 Likes

It is probably easier to manage with a Faro shuffle.

1 Like

Well, yes, technically it is, but a Faro shuffle just looks suspicious, like it’s obvious you’re manipulating the cards. I’m still pretty good at perfect Faro shuffles, but I rarely use them.

Then I do it for the 2nd card,

You have to roll a 51-sided dice for the 2nd card if you really want a random shuffle. (And a 50-sided dice for the 3rd &c).

Sincerely,

Your Nerd Friend.

10 Likes

What, you don’t have a factorial dice?

2 Likes

Maybe when you shuffle. When I do it, it’s a game of 52-pickup.

3 Likes

Gone home waiting for you to shuffle the deck. :wink:

1 Like

u6fC2ZR

8 Likes

It’s like the butterfly operation that is used to calculate an FFT (fast Fourier transform).

1 Like

There are more ways to arrange a deck of cards than there are atoms in the Milkyway galaxy; 2-4 times more actually.

Cooley-Tukey?

when I shuffle cards it’s more like the same 3 cards get swapped around a few times. (overhand shuffler)

Yes, that would be more efficient for the computer, but onerous IRL.
We can agree that I dumbed it down a hair for the sake of the hilarious comedy gold.

We can agree that you dumbed it down a hair for the sake of hilarious comedy gold. Good job.