Watch 32 out-of-sync metronomes magically synchronize

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/07/13/watch-32-out-of-sync-metronome.html

4 Likes

As a drummer, I experience this sort of thing every day. I hear/see the pattern in most things. From turn signals, wiper blades, ticking clocks, etc. No matter the speed or how off they are, two or more repeating things will eventually sync. I feel the anticipation building and when it happens it clicks something in my mind. But until it happens, all is anxiety.

edit to add: this is not the accidental synchronization that happens in every day life. This is forced by placing all the metronomes on the same speed and on a platform which is allowed to sway from the force exerted by the metronomes collectively thereby causing them to sync.

14 Likes

The magic of physics.

Ahem, it’s physics, not magic.

[note attempt at sarcasm]

14 Likes

I refer to physics as ‘repeatable magic’ all the time. Because it pretty much is so.

15 Likes

Mythbustered:

5 Likes

There’s a metaphor about group think and compliance to be had here…

7 Likes

Reminds me of the Republican party as they fall into goose lock step with Drumpf.

9 Likes

And I thought Force Push was a lame Jedi power…

3 Likes