Watch this dialect coach speak in different U.S. accents

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2021/01/21/watch-this-dialect-coach-speak-in-different-u-s-accents.html

3 Likes

That was actually quite informative, and though I’m no expert, I thought he hit the accents pretty well. I’m most familiar with Boston, and that was a pretty good version of it, as well as Rhode Island and how it varied slightly.

Deducting points for not trying a Maine accent, though. Adding points back in for not trying a Maine accent and doing it badly, so that’s a wash.

6 Likes

Holy cow this guy knows his scheidt. A rare thing to marry the whole with the deconstructed parts. Well done!

3 Likes

Came for the Pittsburgh accent, pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t totally incorrect.

To clarify, it’s less about “the placement of the tongue” than it is “Pittsburgh-ese is incredibly lazy, and should be spoken like you just woke up from a nap.”

Replace some of those Ls with Ws for extra fun.

“Gimmea minta grab mah wawwt and will go dahn 'na storen getcher chips.”
“Give me a minute to grab my wallet and we’ll go down to the store and get your chips.”

4 Likes

Interested to hear that the lack of uptick in a question is associated with African Americans in DC, as I had been told it was a characteristic of the NY accent (not that the two are mutually exclusive) and certainly seems to be, since it’s something I seem to do (and I’m from NY and have been singled out for my accent)

1 Like

I’m originally from the Georgia Piney Woods, and his impression of it is pretty good. He’s right (rat) that there are even more subdivisions of that accent. People in Nashville, GA sound different from people 35 miles up the road in Fitzgerald. I do wish he’d used Jimmy Carter to demonstrate the non-rhotic Southern accent instead of Englishwoman Vivian Leigh.

1 Like

Wouldn’t the headline be better as “Listen,” rather than “Watch”?

No. I’m definitely going to watch! #eyecandy

6 Likes