Watch this musician ride her bike while performing on sax and drums

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/08/08/watch-this-musician-ride-her-b.html

6 Likes

At least she’ll only kill herself!

Note: loud!

4 Likes

The curmudgeon in me would be more impressed if the video had not been so heavily produced and edited. Considering all the edits (presumably necessary to cut out all the bits where needing to steer the bike interrupted the rhythm), I am left wondering if any of the soundtrack was actually recorded while she was riding the bike instead of dubbed in afterwards.

2 Likes

I never realized wide open streets had so much natural reverb. Amazing!

It does make me think though, we have no problem with music videos where it’s obvious that the music is the canned studio track. But this video that is far more real is also more difficult to accept the studio track.

Also, I am a professional sound engineer (live) so things like the reverb which would never exist when riding on the street like that stick out like a sore thumb to me.

4 Likes

She’s used to curmudgeons, because she’s a lady on the internet! She even got a lot of hate for this, which I personally think is a lot of fun:

7 Likes

I thought she was going to perform on sax and drums. turns out it’s sax or drums. Still fun.

7 Likes

Flames. Needs more flames.

7 Likes

There’s a certain set for whom the sight of a bicycle immediately turns their minds to rage mode - it could be the most innocent and fun thing, but they’ll just sit there looking for a thing to nitpick about, and then that’ll be it, it’s all they can see, their need to see an evil awful irresponsible scofflaw cyclist is fulfilled, they stop taking in anything at all.

At no point do they enjoy the innocence and fun, because bike.

5 Likes

It’s a normal music video. The music is all pre-recorded and mixed in a studio.

1 Like

That’s cheating.