Weapon: A Visual History of Arms and Armor

[Permalink]

As a librarian, I find the DK series great for youngsters, with good informative pictures and text. Adults like them too!

Wow! The illustration in the 5th edition Dungeons & Dragons Arms and Equipment Guide is beautiful!

How typical of the typical pandering leftyism of BoingBoing to typically critique such a publication!

After you take our guns away, you’re coming for our libraries next, I suppose. TYPICAL.

this is a topical joke

More than two dozen different polearms included!

This is the kind of stuff every other character on The Walking Dead should be toting, except the characters aren’t smart enough to know which end is the handle.

Yeah, the cluelessness of keeping to knives rather ANY longer weapon bothers me. It doesn’t need to be a katana, a baseball bat would be better than a buck knife, simply crush the skull and move on. It’s not like they parry!

I believe my son bought this book when he visited the Tower when he was 13.

I’m very fond of George Cameron Stone’s A Glossary of the Construction, Decoration and Use of Arms and Armor in All Countries and in All Times, but this has shiny color pictures. Buy both!

I have this book, and it’s an excellent reference! (maybe I guess if you’re a bladesmith or armorer, or maybe even cosplayer…)

One obvious pick would be the 3" lengths of black iron gas pipe sold in hardware stores. Also a baseball bat split at the end with a 6" chunk of auto leaf spring bolted in. Probably the most useful thing would be something like an axe handle with a small very cheap stamped metal hatchet blade set in the end. But I like the bat idea because it’s all about making a huge puncture followed by the blunt force follow through that crushes the compromised skull.

I know. We clever humans have so very many variations of ye ol’ pointy stick.