Weapon: A Visual History of Arms and Armor

[Permalink]

As a librarian, I find the DK series great for youngsters, with good informative pictures and text. Adults like them too!

2 Likes

Wow! The illustration in the 5th edition Dungeons & Dragons Arms and Equipment Guide is beautiful!

6 Likes

How typical of the typical pandering leftyism of BoingBoing to typically critique such a publication!

After you take our guns away, you’re coming for our libraries next, I suppose. TYPICAL.

this is a topical joke

More than two dozen different polearms included!

1 Like

This is the kind of stuff every other character on The Walking Dead should be toting, except the characters aren’t smart enough to know which end is the handle.

2 Likes

Yeah, the cluelessness of keeping to knives rather ANY longer weapon bothers me. It doesn’t need to be a katana, a baseball bat would be better than a buck knife, simply crush the skull and move on. It’s not like they parry!

I believe my son bought this book when he visited the Tower when he was 13.

I’m very fond of George Cameron Stone’s A Glossary of the Construction, Decoration and Use of Arms and Armor in All Countries and in All Times, but this has shiny color pictures. Buy both!

I have this book, and it’s an excellent reference! (maybe I guess if you’re a bladesmith or armorer, or maybe even cosplayer…)

One obvious pick would be the 3" lengths of black iron gas pipe sold in hardware stores. Also a baseball bat split at the end with a 6" chunk of auto leaf spring bolted in. Probably the most useful thing would be something like an axe handle with a small very cheap stamped metal hatchet blade set in the end. But I like the bat idea because it’s all about making a huge puncture followed by the blunt force follow through that crushes the compromised skull.

I know. We clever humans have so very many variations of ye ol’ pointy stick.