When did comics shift to focusing on visual storytelling?

Originally published at: When did comics shift to focusing on visual storytelling? | Boing Boing

2 Likes

his importance to the medium of comics can’t be understated.

Uh, maybe the opposite?

6 Likes

Krigstein was a painting teacher at the HS of Art & Design while i was a student there. He was among one of the many brilliant artists that taught there, something many of did not appreciate until later (dumb kids). I wish i had been smart enough to ask more questions of those teachers while i was there.

7 Likes

I don’t think the You Tuber ever heard of Will Eisner. He was doing this kind of thing years before Krigstein.

5 Likes

Personally, I have always found it weird that modern comics have largely stopped using thought bubbles, something I consider an essential part of the language of comics.

3 Likes

Do you have some images in mind? I have not seen a lot of the Spirit, I remember a lot of it as being verbose. It was definitely work that stood out from its time, but I remember it as more cartoony, not having this much drama.

Comic Tropes also covered that one some time ago.

3 Likes

I watched the video to the end, and although Krigstein was on the cutting edge at 1955, I feel the European artists like Hergé, Goscinny, and later Jean Gireaud (AKA Moebius) also helped. Were it not for Metal Hurlant and then Heavy Metal, I suspect American comic publishers would have remained deaf to Krigstein’s acolytes.

In the end, I suspect the obscurity of “Master Race” may have been the true secret to fueling the later revolution: “secret” knowledge is cherished, appreciated more.

And we all are richer for it. Merci beaucoup, M. Krigstein, wherever you are.

9 Likes

5 Likes
2 Likes

“… can’t be overstated,” surely :face_with_monocle:

5 Likes

These people never heard of Windsor McCay?

2 Likes

You right, you right.

Good catch, friend.

4 Likes