Alfonso Cuarón's "Ikea"

[Permalink]

3 Likes

The most terrifying thing about this is that the horror doesn’t end even when you get home.

1 Like

Just to avoid IKEA and any of its competitors I live in a ready-furnished appartment. Interior design is for masochists^^

Interesting euphemism for prison…

5 Likes

:smiley: I just love my cosy prison… especially because of my lovely inmates :wink:

1 Like

I went to an Ikea once. I left through an emergency exit, after wandering around getting agitated for a while. I do not get it. I can get cheaper things at a thrift store, it doesn’t smell any better than a thrift store in there, and then even if I did figure out how to buy something and get it home I’d have to build it… and everyone would see it and say “oh, you must shop at Ikea.”

4 Likes

Have you tried ordering from them online? I have some sympathy, but Ikea isn’t really set up for the ‘In and out’ shopping experience…

I loved Ikea when I was a starving student.

But as the years passed I came to hate it more and more. Just about everything about it, from the sometimes ridiculous amounts of assembly required (just try buying a bed: you have to pick up a bunch of different assembly-required packages from the warehouse, assemble them, then assemble the assemblies – I declined to buy), to the piss-poor quality of many items, to almost universally inconvenient store locations, to that one thing you need always seeming to be out of stock on the one day you schlep all the way out there. The video doesn’t really ring true to me, because store layout is the one complaint I don’t have. I’ve always found the sprawl relatively logical and well organized.