Making a uniform for daily wear

[Permalink]

We used to have a local lady who got to be known as The Blue Lady as her uniform was blue stuff.

Myself, I am an engineer, so I already have a uniform: low-budget, bland sport shirt and Levis. It must be hard to go through life having to spend time deciding what to wear every day.

2 Likes

I’ve worn the same (clean versions every day) clothes for well over a decade. Workmates comment once or twice and then the subject just fades into the background.

Black boots, black jeans, black T-shirts. Generic enough that the unvarying colour is the first thing people notice, and then, much later they wonder if you ever change. I keep a photo of my wardrobe to end the conversation.

I’m not going to pretend it’s anything other than my ASD that’s behind it, but it keeps me happy and doesn’t harm anyone else.

4 Likes

You know? Becoming “one of those strange local characters” is cool. Do it.

12 Likes

Most women can’t really get away with this sort of thing, depending on their field.

2 Likes

Utilikilt!

6 Likes

All too often I fall into the NW uniform of cargo shorts and a tee shirt. But the office uniform is collared button up, lightly starched shirt (long sleeved but rolled up) and wool slacks. Beatle boots or vans for shoes.

Yes, my wife makes fun of me.

1 Like

The image resolution is a little low, so reading the text is a bit difficult, but the description definitely says the uniform “can be sewn out of any wool or paper materials.” A paper school uniform? Not sure if Soviet schoolchildren would have been too happy to wear it!

1 Like

I am not defending them or advocating for paper clothes to return, but yeah it was a thing.

The only reason I know of this is from a single line of a Nick Cave song from abbatior blues.

4 Likes