Pizzeria asks judge to find rival's flavor to be trademark-infringing

[Permalink]

If one wanted to protect a recipe, I think that a patent (possibly a design patent) would be required.

1 Like

Trade secrets work just fine to protect recipes, most of the time.

4 Likes

It’s well known that the formula for Coca-Cola is a trade secret, so such limitations can exist. However, it looks like making a pizza isn’t secret enough for this to work.

The recipe for the sauce (and the dough, and probably several other ingredients) should be protected by trade secrets… So I’m not sure why they tried to trademark the flavour.

1 Like

Since this guy had access to the recipe, then it is the recipe, not the flavor, which is infringing. He is not going to convince anyone that the similarity is a coincidence.

But “trade secret” does suggest some interesting eventualities. If the flavor was subjectively similar, but from a different recipe, they’d have no case. Also, I wonder about people happening upon the same or similar recipes for a thing independently. If I do not access somebodys “secret”, how could the similar results be claimed as infringing?

But only if they took steps to ensure its secrecy and the ingredients could not be discovered naturally by others through independent discovery or even reverse engineering. And with food prepared from natural ingredients, top chefs can do a great deal of reverse engineering just from taste alone. I think they had to get creative because the trade secret litmus test wasn’t going to pass.

1 Like

I think they were screwed the moment that someone noticed that a trademark registration requires an image.

IIRC you can’t copywrite, patent, or trademark the recipe itself, only the text used to publish that recipe.