The worst-paying jobs in America

[Permalink]

Jeez, 22%?!?

But donā€™t worry, America! Surely, many of those folks are actually working two lowest-wage fast food jobs. So itā€™s all good.

(I sometimes look back at my SSA recaps of my early-20s employment history ā€“ as a foodservice cook ā€“ and wonder that I survived at all. Some years, I barely cracked 10k, and I was pretty consistently/fully employed. Shit, I made $10/hr running a kitchen, once.)

7 Likes

This kind of thing is inexcusable. I made more than that fast food guy while I was a grad student, and grad students work for next-to-nothing.

1 Like

I worked in fast food while going to college. It was probably the most physically demanding job Iā€™ve ever had. It was also way more mentally demanding than youā€™d think. It was Taco Bell, so it was like a food assembly line in the kitchen part. Special orders would come up and youā€™d have to put it all together at breakneck speed so serving time didnā€™t exceed what was allowed.

If you were a cashier at the front, you had to input orders accurately and make corrections as the customer did, all while being responsible for cleaning the customer-accessible part of the restaurant.

If you were on the drive-through, you might be taking one order on a headset, taking money for another order, and filling up drinks at the same time. And when you ran out of customers, it was your job to do the dishes. Which were on the other side of the building. Usually about the time youā€™d stick your hands in the sink, another car would come in. And since this is Canada, that cold air coming in the window would be just what your wet hands needed.

After being on my feet for that many hours in a row, Iā€™d often wake up silently screaming from the pain of a muscle cramp in my calves. At the time, minimum wage was $6.85 per hour. After one year I received one raiseā€¦to $6.90 per hour.

5 Likes

Itā€™s demanding work, for sure. And the pay is generally demeaning, to boot.