A Murder at Sea. Caught on Camera. Will Anyone Investigate?

[Read the post]

9 Likes

Narwhal chaser…

(damn sometimes i don’t have thick enough skin to be on the internet…:sob:)

21 Likes

This stuff happens. When I was a bike mechanic, I had a customer who was killed as his yacht was boarded by pirates off of South America. Maybe there being video of this will result in them being found out. Quite a few nasty deeds are undone by the subsequent bragging.

5 Likes

justice is a mirage

Since(according to the article) it seems that most of the violence occurs under circumstances with multiple layers of people who don’t want to talk about it and authorities who don’t want to see it, now that the high-profile pirate hits on large shipping fad has declined substantially, I wonder if satellite imagery will end up being the best available source of data?

I’d be shocked if anybody will kick in the assistance of their officially-nonexistent surveillance satellites; but commercial and scientific satellite imaging has improved substantially; and while it doesn’t offer 24/7 coverage, it’s likely that a satellite is watching a given area of ocean more often than a coast guard is.

IDing small boats within the resolution limits of commercial images would be pretty hopeless; but large ones would be identifiable and the presence or absence of small ones would be verifiable if weather allows, which might at least let you inquire after the owners/operators of large boats that appear to be having unusual interactions with small ones.

3 Likes

Based on what I just read, if this is happening in open waters where no particular government has jurisdiction…exactly what can anyone do?

2 Likes

What happens in international waters, stays in international waters.

Hell if Tom Hanks in Captain Phillips (btw, Amazing performance by Hanks again) can’t get people to give two shits about pirates and ne’er-do-wells on the open sea, your little newspaper doesn’t stand a chance.

2 Likes