A new blog post series exploring the history and import of cyberpunk launches on Adafruit

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/02/24/a-new-blog-post-series-explori.html

10 Likes

This is great, looking forward to the whole series, Gareth.

7 Likes

Except for the “becoming ciborgs” part, everything is on point.

I will be always be baffled by the whole turn that made the mobile phone industry from having a huge variety of tiny, portable, and ingenious designs to stick to the plain tablet-like standard that has dominated the last decade…

Depressing thought, “cyberspace” turned out to be Facebook.

3 Likes

I’m very much the odd man out on this topic (even though I’m a long time resident on the freenode #cyberpunk channel) in that I think by the time the literary movement got “known” and commercialized to other media is was near dead. 92 does seem awful late to me.

To put it a different way, in the late 90s when I was living in Ura Harajuku, there was this shop that sold punk wear. You could buy a pre-studded and patched Shott motorcycle jacket for between ~$600^$1,000 depending on how authentic it looked. Or how there was a time when Hot Topic was in shopping malls in the US.

Like Hollywood or Japanese studios were cranking out big budget movies or major labels were releasing music sold as cyberpunk.

But hey sometimes I’m a curmudgeon and never pretended otherwise.

This is absolutely NOT a criticism of Garth’s work or the drive to document and understand, just my own ¥2.

1 Like

Cyberpunk got a lot right about the details of 2020 (at least if you cherry-pick the right cyberpunk), but it got one huge tonal element very wrong, in a very eighties way.