A place to memorialize the domain names you let lapse

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/01/05/a-place-to-memorialize-the-dom.html

6 Likes

Better not let the Unionists in Northern Ireland get the domain though…

1 Like

I still have parisbusinessreview.com

Hate to mention the ones I let go… :frowning:

1 Like

I had ardboe.com

I work in the SEO business and my advice is to never let go of a domain which hosted any significant content. It will be turned into a zombie site and be used to mislead people by spamming backlinks.

4 Likes

Someone should buy neverie.com and turn it into an Internet Explorer hate site. Never IE!

8 Likes

That takes money. Not all of us exactly have a lot of money. Keeping on top of the URLs I am using us daunting enough, so projects fall by the waysite with disuse.

But real soon now I’ll be doing something real with
tiki.space
notdeadorgone.com
tikicosmonaut.com

Any day now.

1 Like

Is there a post? I’m thinking: “O’Reilly Boycott Biggest Boycott Evar!”

3 Likes

So, in a year, will this website disappear too?

Between scavengers and registrars who hang on to lapsed domains, few make it back into the wild.

1 Like

Nah. I traded a bit of cash and two of those for the one that’s actually my last name. Before that I had kinda squatted one, Drehbuch.de. I once had plans to make that a meeting place for amateur scriptwriters, but used it for mail, because it’s an easy to remember and write word for fellow Germans. Once I had shifted everything, I sold it for 5k.

People should let all of the domain names lapse, and switch to numerical IP addresses.

86.75.3.09 is already taken :frowning:

2 Likes

I know you’re trolling, but there aren’t even close to enough numerical IPv4-addresses for all of us to have a few. IPv6-adresses, no problem, we’ll never run out of those, but they are even longer and harder to remember.

1 Like

Anybody want to buy hempmadmen.com?