Alzheimer's facility fined $10k after "dead" resident discovered breathing in a body bag

Originally published at: Alzheimer's facility fined $10k after "dead" resident discovered breathing in a body bag | Boing Boing

9 Likes

Yikes all around.

Not very often that funeral homes get repeat customers.

24 Likes

Yeah, those kind of folk tend to be into DIY Funerals; with bolts on the inside of the coffin.

9 Likes

12 Likes

Call me old-fashioned, but don’t they have procedures for declaring someone dead? Back when I worked in a hospital there was paperwork for this and none of the boxes you vould check said: “doesn’t breathe much”

18 Likes

I’ve had experience with hospice 3 times in the last few years, they are the best of the best and I’m inclined to cut them some slack but if you put my wife in a body bag while she’s still breathing and I’m not sure what I’d do.

16 Likes

When I start falling apart- I’m ending myself. This is how they treat old, vulnerable cisgender people - I don’t even want to imagine how they’ll treat us.

18 Likes

To be fair, there is a whole (rare) phenomenon - “Lazarus Syndrome” - where people appear dead (i.e. undetectable heartbeat and breathing) and then perk up later (and then often die). So it wasn’t necessarily incompetence on the part of the staff here, and there may not have been anything they could have done for a better outcome.

16 Likes

I’ve been with someone as they died in a hospital and was there when the death was “called”, and it’s rather distressingly subjective, or appears to be; there’s no hooking up see if there are brainwaves, for example.

12 Likes