Bans on sketching in museums

[Read the post]

8 Likes

Could be possible to establish a working relationship between a school or instructor and a museum, If a group actively supports a museum via volunteering or other means they could make it easier for artists to be able to sketch. Maybe have some reasonable restrictions to a given day, etc.
If all else fails, go elsewhere to do some sketch studies. Zoos are a good place for it, though it’s always best being able to look at pieces from masters in different mediums.

1 Like

Note that the V&A is prohibiting sketching in a special exhibition, not in the museum as a whole. Most of the time when this happens it’s due to either stipulations by lenders of objects in the exhibition or to control traffic flow and crowding in the gallery space. Despite what a lot of people like to think it’s not done to be mean and stuff, although it often comes across as heavy handed. Disclosure: I am a Museum Professional (whatever that is).

12 Likes

Too many art museums these days think of themselves as extensions of the gift shop

I no longer enjoy them for the reason, it’s like a trip to Homedepot…

5 Likes

Yeah when I read that this prohibition applied to a specific showing and not the entire museum my first thought was “flow”.

When my local had a Rodin exhibit there were a couple of pieces that were just placed in spots that made viewing problematic and so anyone standing still there was moved along to facilitate flow. No sketching.

3 Likes

Gotta pay the heat and lights. And compete for the public’s edutainment dollars with movies, concerts, monster truck shows, etc.

I do disagree about the Home Depot comparison; I feel it’s more like a trip to Costco. :wink:

6 Likes

Yes, the place I work for got called out for doing the same thing, right here on BoingBoing! It was definitely due to flow and crowding.

1 Like

Costco is up a rung on that ladder, slightly.

1 Like