Bug in reservation system used by 140+ international airlines exposes passenger data and allows for manipulation

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/01/16/lots-of-numbers-here.html

3 Likes

I’m always complaining that I never have the monetary resources nor business opportunities to travel anywhere. But maybe as all my jet-setting friends are getting hacked, I’m actually lucky in that regard.

2 Likes

Oooh maybe someone could build a nice API now, so I can reliably get my vegeterian meal (non-dairy, all allergies, all religious dietary restrictions).

3 Likes

Cory, you gotta evaluate your sources. I’m pretty sure this entire story is a marketing scam, and also a good showcase of the hellish life of content marketers. I’ve been working in IT security product development for over 10 years, I’ve seen this shit from all sides.

The story is reported by Safety Detective, a page that apparently mostly offers three-sentence virus scanner reviews that are completely generic and could be written solely based on the websites of the scanners. They also “quote” reviews from 3rd parties to have more content, and affiliate links to the vendor websites. They offer some more pieces of quality journalism, such as the posts “10 Best (REALLY FREE) Antivirus for Mac in 2019”, “10 Best (REALLY FREE) Windows Antivirus Programs for 2019”, “10 best (REALLY FREE) Antivirus software in 2019”, “7 Best (TRULY) Online Free Virus Scanners – Updated for 2019”, “5 Best (REALLY FREE) Antivirus Programs for Android in 2019”, all posted on the blog on the same day, 12nd December, 2018, also littered with affiliate links, of course.