Burning Man: The Musical

[Read the post]

2 Likes

Is there a musical for everything? Is this era in history more in love with musicals then the era of Gershwin and Rodgers and Hammerstein?

2 Likes

Add me to the list of people disappointed in boingboing. Don’t encourage these morons. Written and directed by someone who’s never been? srrsly?

2 Likes

As the haters come out of the woodwork, I’ve been speaking out about the incredible time I had at Burning Man in 1999. Then this.

Watching this was hard. And painful. I don’t like ragging on someone else’s work, as I’m a musician myself… but it was like a SNL satire. Gawd.

I played several movements from Philip Glass’s Koyaanisqatsi on solo synth in the middle of the playa, surrounded by nature and light. I think my ideas about music that can actually evoke the Playa experience are incompatible with… this.

4 Likes

I’m not sure how the actual musical will be (probably not good?), but it was clearly communicating that the actual playa experience is, in fact, going to be incompatible with the “What have you heard about Burning Man?” intro, since it clearly casts the main character as an overeager idiot doing an incredibly stupid task for a richer idiot.

So there’s not going to be a Burning Man this year, or ever again?

2 Likes

i wrote a musical about the black death but in my defense i totes lived with a bunch of rats for a month and i didnt get the plague but i did get scabies and thats good for something right

8 Likes

I’m impressed…that the actors got through this preview with straight faces.

Yes, someone (many?) worked hard to write the songs and music for this (so bravo for an effort I’ve never undertaken), but I’m not sure that a Burning Man musical needs traditionally styled musical arrangements and lyrics. Seems like it needs to be a good bit grittier. (Throwing in a couple of lines of “rap” doesn’t count as gritty.)