Chart of every Nokia dumbphone from 1982-2006

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/02/16/chart-of-every-nokia-dumbphone.html

3 Likes

What are the dates? It puts my 1100 in 2005, but I’ve been using it since October 2004.

Might they be US release dates, rather than those applicable here in the EU?

3 Likes

I doubt it, the prices are in pounds.

Dumb phones are starting to look better and better since police of every kind decided it’s just fine to rummage around in your stuff.

8 Likes

Actual conversation at work:

Employee A: What kind of phone do you have?

Employee B: I don’t know… I think it’s a Samsung Galaxy S.

Employee A: Which one?

Employee B: Just an S.

Employee a: When do you have to return that to the Smithsonian?

9 Likes

It doesn’t seem to have the last one I owned which was a Nokia 6303 classic, which does the ‘phone’ thing as well as any device I’ve since seen or heard tell off. I see it only came out in 2009, well into the era of smartphones. Ah well.

I’m considering pairing my smartphone (which is a Cat S60 because with me it’s not if I’ll drop my phone, but when) with one of the big, dumb, indestructible bricks Cat makes.

3 Likes

Missed that - thanks.

It’s just wrong, then. Reuters also say it was designed in 2002 and released 2003, which makes more sense given that I bought mine in 2004, and wouldn’t have chosen the ‘latest shiny’.

3 Likes

I still use a dumbphone every day and still press 7 four times for a ‘s’. And I’m still missing my 8210 (8290 in north america?) as it was the sexiest phone ever made! The user interface was superb with the 6 perfectly arranged buttons, and remember the indefinite number of fancy xpress-on covers for it?
I don’t understand why they’re not remaking this instead of the 3310…

4 Likes

I had one of the models (ca. 2002) with a fake pull-out antenna that was just a marketing gimmick to convince the customers who didn’t believe a phone without a visible antenna would have good reception.