Cheating term-paper-for-pay businesses recruited customers through subsidized on-campus parties

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/01/25/edubirdieparty.html

3 Likes

It’s surprising that anybody uses such services. The customer data will leak sooner or later.

5 Likes

black-adder-head-desk

Also, you don’t actually LEARN anything doing so…

12 Likes

If they were sensible enough to realize that to begin with… :man_shrugging:

3 Likes

I find it extra annoying that it’s called EduBirdie when there’s no education happening. The mascot is even wearing a mortarboard and holding a pointer, as though it’s about to teach you something. FFS.

7 Likes

I agree. I worked as an academic teacher for 8 years, and some of the students I’ve caught cheating have shown complete lack of imagination. The silliest one was probably a student who failed final oral exam and next time came with formulas written on the palms of his hands :slight_smile:
I also suspect that there’s a tool that substitutes words in text using thesaurus to prevent automated systems from detecting plagiarism. There was a diploma thesis that seemed to be run through such tool in its entirety, with hilarious results. For example Beechcraft Baron aircraft became “Beechcraft Aristocrat”, “Beechcraft Nobleman” and etc. Large parts of original text were copied from Wikipedia, and the whole thing was unbelievably, ridiculously bad. Nearly every word was substituted with synonym that made no sense in the context.

And as for the EduBirdie and similar sites, when the data inevitably gets exfiltrated or sold, it can later become a valuable source of kompromat on politicians and other people in power.

11 Likes

The approach that I’d like to take to this would be the same approach that Germany eventually took to start tackling Swiss facilitation of tax avoidance- bribe an insider or two to get the list of customers, then bring the hammer down on them.