Every year, Starbucks sends 4 billion nonrecyclable paper cups to landfills

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/06/19/4-billion-starbucks-cups-landf.html

2 Likes

Petitioning a company?

Man, just don’t buy their stuff and/or elect politicians who pass laws to your liking,

2 Likes

So it is just Starbucks? What about Dunkin Donuts? Hortons? McDonalds? Panera? etc etc.

7 Likes

Well. Shit. I’ve been putting mine in the composting. I didn’t realize.

2 Likes

It’s a bit surprising because you can BUY easily compostable cups. The tech’s already there.

I’m not a materials engineer so presumably there’s something there other than cost, but I buy compostable cups myself when I need to-go cups for my coffee.

4 Likes

7 Likes

You don’t need to petition starbucks you need to contact your local recyclers to get with it and be able to handle newer materials

these cups ARE recyclable. our system in my town is fully able to handle and process these cups.

3 Likes

I wonder what the percentage breakdown is here. Is this a few holdouts or the vast majority?

1 Like

I am guessing its a slow rollout as were only able to do this in the past two years with our system.

Types of acceptable paper cups
Paper cups with a thin plastic lining (polyethylene also known as a ‘polycoat’) are acceptable. These cups are single-use and are disposable. This includes the take out coffee cups commonly found at coffee shops like Starbucks, Tim Horton’s and McDonald’s. Fountain pop cups or soft drink cups can also be recycled and are commonly found at food courts and fast food restaurants.

What we cannot do are the lids even tho they say they are recyclable, as they are too small/light to get sorted properly and our recycling department for the city says to throw them in the black bin.

1 Like