Fess up: how long since you studied the U.S. Constitution

Two polls here, inspired by Khizr Khan, who raised his pocket Constitution at the DNC and questioned whether Trump had ever read the document.

The last time I studied it was longer ago than I care to say (high school). I glance at the Bill of Rights from time to time on Wikipedia.

The ACLU is offering a free pocket Constitution from now until the election (November 8). Use coupon code POCKETRIGHTS. You can pick Standard Shipping for the zero-cost option, or choose to pay shipping and handling to help defray costs. https://shop.aclu.org/product/ACLU-Pocket-Constitution-of-the-United-States?a=twtconstkhikha

Poll 1: How recently have you read the entire U.S. Constitution?

• In the last year
  • In the last five years
  • In the last ten years
  • In the last fifty years
  • I wrote the damn thing
  • I really should read it some time
  • Not a USian, not my problem
  • What is this “constitution”?

0 voters

Poll 2: How recently have you spent at least an hour studying it seriously?

• In the last year
  • In the last five years
  • In the last ten years
  • In the last fifty years
  • I wrote the damn thing, now you want me to study it?
  • I really should read it some time
  • Not a USian, not my problem
  • What is this “constitution”?

0 voters

4 Likes

I saw it when I was in DC a few years ago…

I look bits up on Wikipedia occasionally.

Actually study it? As recently as I’ve studied the UK constitution.

4 Likes

Thanks, but I’ve already got a copy.

3 Likes

Took a community college Political Science class in 2015, and darn if I didn’t learn a lot. I remembered diddly-squat from high school. What I did remember was the preamble song from Schoolhouse Rock:

6 Likes

This surprises me, I was under the impression that the US values the constitution to such a degree that there’s of course a governmental and free-of-cost offer to order a printed copy.

2 Likes