Fortran, a 70-year-old computer language, lands back on the top 20 most popular list

Originally published at: Fortran, a 70-year-old computer language, lands back on the top 20 most popular list | Boing Boing

5 Likes

It’s a sign of how old Fortran is that its name is a portmanteau of “formula translator”, meaning that it’s a programming language named after the idea that there could be such a thing as a programming language.

I studied computer science in a previous millennium, and not only used Fortran but also programmed in Cobol using IBM 129 keypunch machines. I think the preceding class poked their code in a clay tablet with a stylus.

25 Likes

hmm… i wonder if it gets these ‘votes’ in the form of python numerical libraries?

and is gaining popularity thanks to the massive need for (scientific) number crunching. Welcome back Fortran,

It was my first language, Fortran, and it’ll always be near and dear to my heart for all its computed GO TO’ing out and in of the middle of computed DO loops … I[J][K]=42

10 Likes

Lucky you. I started engineering school in 1983, and they had just retired the punch card reader the year before. But we still had to learn Fortran.

10 Likes

FORTRAN was the language of Real Programmers. I was hired right out of high school to port the optical interferogram analysis tool FRINGE from a CDC CYBER 176 to a PDP/11. It had several overlays of both code and data in its various stages of execution. If filled one box of cards, which translated to one 8" floppy disk.
The unnamed COMMON statement was the most intriguing aspect to me. A block of memory that got redefined in every subroutine!

17 Likes