Herbie Hancock's killer original music for the Fat Albert TV special (1969)

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/04/19/herbie-hancocks-killer-origi.html

6 Likes

Now if somebody could find a copy of that special. I’ve been looking for a copy for years and this has little to do with the Filmation series we knew but a Grafilm project animated by Floyd Norman. Grafilm as the style and not a company so like Eleanor Rigby in Yellow Submarine or Twice Upon a Time)

1 Like

Aw man, an old roommate had that on CD. I forgot how good it is. Used to groove to this whenever we needed a pick-me-up.

5 Likes

If you can, pick up Mwandishi: The Complete Warner Brothers Recordings. It includes this whole album, as well as Crossings (which is my favorite stuff on the album) and Mwandishi. I’ve been listening to this album regularly for the last several decades, and it NEVER gets old.

Edit: looks like there’s an even more complete compilation from this period now: The Warner Bros. Years 1969-1972. I’m off order it momentarily…

1 Like

Herbie Hancock is a national treasure. Look at his discography, his original straight-ahead jazz LPs, his funky fusion LPs, there are a lot of classics in there. He might have as many albums in the top jazz lists as Miles.

3 Likes

I could play that all day at work, but then my clients might suspect something.

5 Likes

Though it was a decade or so later, I always thought of this as one of the classic music vids from the golden age, right up there w/ Peter Gabriel’s Sledgehammer:

8 Likes

I’ve always really, really wanted to like Herbie Hancock’s music. I really do… but it’s just not my thing. I’m always left sort of feeling like I was waiting for something to happen in his songs. Like they should go somewhere.

The irony is I like electronic music and can listen for hours to techno/house/EDM songs consisting of meandering beats that lack the traditional structure of popular music.

1 Like