Here's the video for crash #147 at the 11foot8 bridge

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/07/01/heres-the-video-for-crash-1.html

8 Likes

That pedestrian did not even flinch – sang froid

38 Likes

Win for the bystander.

16 Likes

He’s a replicant! Call Harrison Ford!

16 Likes

“why don’t they lower the road or just make the bridge higher, this design mistake is all Durham’s fault” arriving in 3… 2…

32 Likes

This is my favorite story of a truck driving under a bridge too small.

I drove past it on my way home from work. It must have just happened, there were no police on the scene yet.

9 Likes

I read about this issue a lot from all over the place. I can’t believe there isn’t a solution yet. How about a long yellow horizontal thick plastic tube hanging from chains 30’ before the bridge? You see this type of warning system at public parking garages all the time. I am not an expert but find it difficult to believe that there isn’t a reasonable solution.

1 Like

Bridge - 147

Over Height Trucks - 0

13 Likes

Implacable backpack dude on the sidewalk is implacable!

8 Likes

That is a good one.

On the one hand that would be a good idea.

On the other, suggesting that there needs to be a “solution” is implying that the current state of affairs is a “problem”, and I’m not certain I agree!

Drivers could also 1) know the clearance of their vehicle and 2) read the many, many conspicuous signs.

8 Likes

From the FAQ:

Could they install a low-clearance bar?