Hey Kids, who knows something about Short Wave and Long Wave Black Lights/UV Lights?

I finally got some really nice florescent mineral samples at a local gem and mineral samples. I knew odds are my UV flashlight and mini-black light weren’t going to produce the same results as the ones at the show. So I guess to enjoy my purchase and able to wow my friends, I need a different light. I know there are some high end ones out there, but I want to spend more than the $3 my current lamp cost me, but let’s try to keep it $20ish? Maybe $40 for a combo?

I am just learning the difference. I think the long wave is the ‘safer’, more common kind, which is probably what I have.

Anyway, anyone have experience with UV lamps they can suggest something. Obviously I have found several samples, including one that does both waves for around $40, but I am hoping one can give first hand experience. I would prefer battery powered, but plug in is acceptable. Thanks.

This is my first “high end” samples. The rest of what I have are things I have found in ornamental rock piles in people’s flower beds. Though all of those samples have only minor glowing. I also have some nice, thick criniod stems that glow (probably calcite). BUT, I am optimistic that a new lamp might make them go from “eh, yeah, it kinda glows” to “bazinga!”.

Wha? No one dabbles in black lights? Not even for your psychedelic posters?

Once again I am disappointed in BB :frowning:

Wish I knew, but never dabbled in UV before. Sounds like fun. Hopefully someone will weigh in. Bear in mind that you posted this on a Sunday which tends to be slow here.

A couple of leading questions…

What size installation and area are you planning?
What are you’re mounting/ballast/wiring options?

I’d love to see pics once you get it set up. Sounds like a cool decorating idea :slight_smile:

Don’t know if this helps, but it looks like the most promising first-page result of a quick googling:
http://budgetlightforum.com/node/2459