How black hole winds blow

[Permalink]

My favourite ‘artist’s impression’ of an astronomical scene was a that of a dark galaxy, posted by The Register.

1 Like

I can see how it could radiate around the equator, if the hole is spinning and slingshotting infalling matter. But how can it emit equally in all directions? I can’t even picture that geometry…

Where the hell is Maggie?

I think this sums it up best.

1 Like

So SOME things are able to escape black holes. Like wind…I guess.

The light and particles of the wind never actually crossed the event horizon, so no, they didn’t escape the black hole. At least, not the inescapable part.

Here’s how I understand Quasars (I’m not an artist, so I’m not apologizing for the poor quality.)

ETA: the image preview isn’t showing up. I think the site’s optimizing it, and it’ll show up in a minute or two.

Supermassive black holes at the cores of galaxies blast radiation and ultra-fast winds outward

Apparently they have a lot in common with your mom.

Really this article is talking about a quasar, not strictly a black hole. A black hole by itself can emit energy and matter, but the emission itself is from matter falling into the accertion disc, where eventually matter and energy will be ejected at the poles of rotation.