How Michelin star restaurants cut their onions

Originally published at: How Michelin star restaurants cut their onions | Boing Boing

10 Likes

Like onion jello.

6 Likes

Having a really really sharp knife is very much needed. For me i’m ok with roughly chopped onions, very rarely do i need to cut them into anything finer :slight_smile:

16 Likes

I’m baffled that he lifts the knife on every cut rather than holding the tip against the board and rocking the knife on the tip. Is that the ‘right’ way to use a chef knife? I could never keep a knife steady for chopping without an anchor point.

5 Likes

How to make onion pudding.

2 Likes

Surely you can get the exact same result by just grating them. This just seems like an unreasonable amount of effort for no reason.

…which, I suppose, is par for the course of most Michelin restaurants.

17 Likes

I’m no expert but from what i recall from other vids i’ve seen in the past… The type of knife is going to inform the technique. The technique with rocking the knife is better for the chef’s knife that has more of a curve at the tip like this:

21r60GoUfNL._SX385_1

The one in the vid that he uses seems better suited for a straight up and down chopping technique

16 Likes

Ah yes, the kind of knife that I mentally refer to as a ‘why do they make this kind of knife?’ knife. Possibly other people have more balance and less tremor than I have and so can move a knife in three dimensions reliably.

5 Likes

Apparently the preferred technique varies from country to country. France is a “chopping” country and Germany is a “rocking” country, but unfortunately I don’t know about other countries.

6 Likes

My coordination isn’t great either, but i have nothing to prove with fancy quick knife work. I’ll take my time and carefully make my cuts regardless of what i’m using.

10 Likes

xC07L51
Just be careful around the fingertips

14 Likes

Two hours in a stew, and it doesn’t matter how you cut them.

/sniffs at fast food.

12 Likes