How the infamous India gem scam works

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/02/06/how-the-infamous-india-gem-sca.html

Don’t worry. That’s just not gonna happen.

5 Likes

Also, who has 60,000$s?

10 Likes

These sort of scams have one thing in common. They are asking you to do something that is dishonest at the outset. In this case, they are asking you to help them bypass the customs fee for importing the gems into Australia. If you won’t agree to do dishonest things, then these scams won’t work on you.

11 Likes

“You can’t fool an honest man” as the saying go. It’s bullshit. It is convenient to make the mark feel he participates in something illegal to make him reluctant to go to the police, but lots of scams seems perfetcly honest.

3 Likes

Between the gem scammers, frauds like the Maharishi, and the end less phone grifts, India is certainly establishing itself in public perception as the land of the scam.

2 Likes

Some years ago, as a student, I was visiting Turkey with a large group of friends. At Istanbul, inside the Blue Mosque, we bumped into a somewhat older local who spoke perfect english and, after some conversation, offered to show us a great restaurant. It was only hours later that one of us asked if he might know of a rug store (Turkish/Persian rugs being the thing that Istanbul is known for). Why, yes-- he just happened to know of one, and he took us to a friend’s store. There, another gentleman sits us down, we all have tea, and he spent a good hour showing us all sorts of rugs and how you can tell fake artificial rugs from genuine ones. Everyone but myself bought a rug. And, it really did feel “impolite” to not be buying one!