How to cook a cheap steak vs. an expensive one

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/06/12/how-to-cook-a-cheap-steak-vs.html

2 Likes

When did Kristen Wiig start a youtube channel about food?

1 Like

This was actually super informative. I’m a newbie at steak at 40-something, and am still very much learning all of the different cuts and what they’re for. I’ve had good luck with the ‘reverse sear’ method they show here.

4 Likes

The only thing I didn’t hear her state (and perhaps I missed it) is that certain cuts should not be cooked to certain temps. more fibrous cuts (flank or flap) should be medium and never med rare or rare because it needs more cook time to break down the connective tissue so it will be more tender.

large muscle steaks like filet, strip, and rib eye can be on the rare/med-rare side as they are tender cuts already. And don’t poke it with a a thermometer…learn to judge by touch.

The stronger flavor from cheaper cuts is most often caused by being grass fed beef which is always much cheaper. Especially if it is Aussie and not US/Mexico beef. Grass fed animals have more wild flavor in the meat due to their diet. I personally like that :slight_smile:

Also I am not a fan of the reverse sear, I know many people love this method…I leaves a different taste to me that I don’t care for.

1 Like

All of my local markets have separate sections for “grain fed” and “grass fed” beef (and bison) now, and the grass fed is about twice the price of grain fed, whether cuts or ground. I’ve heard grass fed is better overall and have been wondering if its worth the price, honestly.

I’m very much still learning the ways of steak. To be totally honest steak really isn’t my thing, but I do a lot of cooking for my household of steak fans, so beef gets on the menu quite a bit, whether pan/oven seared or grilled.

4 Likes