How to hand letter like an architect

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/08/17/how-to-hand-letter-like-an-arc.html

2 Likes

You can do it. Just take your time and practice. I still have leftover habits of how to do certain letters and numbers from my drafting/mechanical drawing class.

5 Likes

I got my first (mechanical) drafting job because I could print well. Served me well until computers came along.

4 Likes

I guess as a leftie I could only ever be an architect if I learned how to write right to left and turned the page upside down.

4 Likes

Color me crazy, but the D (for example) looks like a lower-case n. Is there a point to this other than style? Maybe I am boring, but I would have thought a plain old block printing style would be a better choice.

7 Likes

This guy might be a fine architect, but his letters look dumb.

9 Likes

I’ve always thought it a bit pretentious, especially when used for other than architect’s drawings, as in “Look, I’m an architect!” But I’m being way too harsh. Once you’ve learned to write that way, it’s the way you write.

My SO writes like an MD, though she isn’t one.

2 Likes

In my drafting class this lettering would not pass. This is more like “How to hand letter like and architect with sloppy technique.”

14 Likes

Well I think his lettering is cute. What freaks me out is his passionate, obsessive dedication to drawing cute letters.

1 Like

It has a bunch of benefits that are limited to blueprints and other similar designs. It is easily reproducible at a variety of sizes, clear, unambiguous and can be done with the tools available to a draftsman in their standard work. The sloppy lettering in the video fails on all of those counts. Unfortunately as more people become familiar with the look of the technique through old images and fonts, while fewer people are using it properly, you have people latching on to some of the quirks, but losing the value.

3 Likes

Same. This would not pass with our instructors.