How to make a simple electronic musical instrument

[Permalink]

3 Likes

Great article Mark - I’m just getting started with Arduino and electronics and I think my kids will love this. I was wondering if the type of coin used will make much difference. In the UK our pennies are bronze covered steel rather than zinc/copper. According to the interwebs that’s less conductive. I can probably get my hands on some US pennies, I just wonder if you think it’s worthwhile Thanks.

1 Like

Like a cute kids version of Erkki Kurenniemi’s “Sexophone”, the DIMI-S. http://vimeo.com/25350707
Love it, gotta try to make one!

This was featured in the Extended Edition of the 1988 movie Big. It appears to be called “People Symphony”. I always wondered if it was custom made.

Hi all! I’m super-sorry to come over here and be a ranting (and perhaps misguided) feminist, but I find a few points really rub me up the wrong way.

Firstly the inherent sexism in the title of the book (what about the electrical engineer mother who wants to teach her son/daughter/neighbour’s kid about making stuff? The implication here is that girls have a disadvantage which fathers are going to help fix, or that in my example the people involved are wrong-gendered?).

Then the less serious problem, which falls into the category of tired old trope where the girls’ toys in stores are in glaring-pink aisles… We should ask ourselves if a book aimed at ‘boys’ would include steps 1-4? I find they come off as condescending: implying girls are only interested in this project since they’re first lured in by non-functional fluff. If a (capable or not, irrelevant) female engineer at a company were to suggest equivalent steps for whatever technical project, I’m pretty confident a whole bunch of people would jump to call those things frivolous and would probably also bring gender into the argument. Let’s not, then, encourage that behaviour, or talk down to our audience.