How to save your ass if the Boeing 737 MAX you're flying decides to nosedive

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/03/29/how-to-save-your-ass-if-the-bo.html

4 Likes

That’s great, I’ll let my pilot know.

6 Likes

Okay, now I know what to do, but the situation would still be somewhat stressful.

UWOBsrz%5B1%5D

20 Likes

FINALLY, a reason to post this other than politics!

27 Likes

0sEozeH

12 Likes

(heh, the joke loses some nuance when you can read the word “Shirley” instead of “surely.”)

14 Likes

Unfortunately the pilots won’t have 20 minutes to watch it when the nose dives.

4 Likes

“Unlikely”? Have you seen none of the Airport films? I never board a plane without assuming that I will be called on to land the plane. Same goes for medical emergencies on the ground.

“Is anyone a doctor?!?”
“Pretty much! I have an incomplete PhD in art history!”

20 Likes

The fast-forward button on Youtube videos is freakin’ delightful, isn’t it? (So useful that I expect it will be a casualty of one revamp or another.)

2 Likes

that’s a bad drinking problem for a pilot

6 Likes

Great video. It’s very helpful to see the actual procedures demonstrated in the simulator. I’ve read a lot about how pilots are trained to deal with runaway stabilizer but it doesn’t really hit home until you see it in action.

From what I’ve heard, the Ethiopian pilots had 40 seconds to diagnose and correct the problem prior to impact as they were at very low altitude after takeoff. In the simulator video, the pilots took almost 2 minutes before they manually cutout the runaway stabilizer. It shows that the Ethiopian pilots really had no chance to save the aircraft unfortunately.

13 Likes

Any pilots here? I’m curious, what are the spinning disks near the pilots’ shins on the center console (best visible at 12:53 and 18:20)? The pilot seems to adjust one at 9:49, but the shot is cut off.